The Museum will be closed to the public on September 23, 24 and 25.
Hours today
9am - 5pm


We build

Play is undoubtedly the most important work of childhood.

Please Touch Museum’s mission is to “Change a child’s life as they discover the power of learning through play.” Our Museum is where lifelong learning begins, curiosity is encouraged and every child is always welcome. Underpinning this mission is a promise, “To be a leader in 21st century children’s museums as a key resource of learning through play, and expand our reach and impact in the Philadelphia region and beyond.” To fulfill this promise, Please Touch Museum will continue to be inclusive, open and accessible to all communities

Our interactive exhibits, programs and special events are designed to focus on creativity, collaboration, communication and critical thinking as core elements. With this, children discover, learn and play and as a result develop the intellectual, social and emotional skills they need to succeed in school and life.


Great minds shaping greater minds.

Please Touch Museum Board of Trustees
  • Benjamin L. Johnson, Chair
  • Kate Shields, Vice Chair
  • Kristen Vieira Traynor, Immediate Past Chair
  • Dana Connors, Secretary
  • Patricia D. Wellenbach, President & CEO
  • Ellen Amudipe
  • Chris Campbell
  • Dana Connors
  • William Crowder
  • Geoff Gross
  • Karen Griffith Gryga
  • Barbara Klock, MD
  • Rahul Kothari
  • Arianna Orpello Lewko
  • Sara C. McGowan
  • Christopher Scarpa
  • Steven Singh
  • Richard Tewksbury, Jr.
  • Regina M. Tracy
  • Shawn Tuli
  • Nancy Wang
  • Victoria Wilson

Ex Officio Members  

The Honorable James Kenney
City of Philadelphia

represented by
Kelly Lee
Chief Cultural Officer
City of Philadelphia

The Honorable Darrell Clarke
Philadelphia City Council

represented by
The Honorable Curtis Jones, Jr.
Council Representative
Philadelphia City Council

represented by
Joshua Cohen
Special Assistant to the Majority Leader

The Honorable Vincent Hughes
PA State Senator

represented by Marcella Daniels
Chief of Staff for Senator Vincent Hughes

Kathryn Ott Lovell
Department of Parks and Recreation, Philadelphia

represented by
Tiffany W. Thurman
Chief of Staff
Philadelphia Parks & Recreation


Elizabeth B. Cartmell
Sharon G. Coghlan, Esq
Anne F. Hamilton

Portia Sperr
Sally W. Stetson

The Parkside Community Advisory Council  

Ron Allen
Office of Senator Vincent Hughes

Barry Becker
Please Touch Museum

Yolanda Braxton
Office of Representative Vanessa Lowery Brown

Mike Burch
Editor of Parkside Weekly

Calla Cousar
East Parkside Residents Association

Ruby Davis
First African Presbyterian Church

Evon Delee
New Church Down the Way Ministries

Julia Diggs
West Philadelphia Senior Center

Loretta Dixon
39th and Poplar Street Organization

Pam Evans
Mayor’s Office of Education

Juanisha Everett

Darryl Felder
Black Bottom New Generation

Lorraine Gomez
Viola Street Resident’s Association

Cass Green
The Church Down the Way/Mill Creek Community Partnership

Monica Harmon
SE PA Area Black Nurses Association

Tina Harris
Enon Tabernacle Baptist Church Evelyn Hudson, Parkside Association of Philadelphia

Evelyn Hudson
Parkside Association of Philadelphia

Luncinda Hudson
Parkside Association of Philadelphia

John Jordan
Discovery Charter School

Polly McKenna-Cress
Please Touch Museum

Charlene Mills
Parkside Association

Pastor Joe E. Nock
Second Antioch Baptist Church

Jennifer Sanchez
Please Touch Museum

Kelly Thomas
People’s Emergency Center

Trish Wellenbach
Please Touch Museum

Larry White
Office of Representative Vanessa Lowery Brown

Delcina Wilson

Alice Wright
United Black Captains Association

Strategic plan

Reimagining play to empower 21st century learners.

 Read the summary

  • Request a copy of our Annual Report


We’re making headlines.

 View our newsroom

Our Mascot Needs a Name!

Vote now to name our mascot, debuting at Please Touch Museum’s Birthday Bash on October 7, 2018!

 Vote Now!